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Deviating from Partnership Agreements 
     
Frequently a player is faced with an unusual hand that requires “creativity” in bidding. No bid 
from the partnership system addresses the peculiarities of the hand before him. Some select “the 
least lie” to describe the hand they hold, others hope for the best and make a bid they know 
violates their partnership agreement. Their hope is to perhaps find out further information on 
partner’s holding before making their next call. 
 
From Law 40: 
 
c. Deviation from System and Psychic Action 
 
1. A player may deviate from his side’s announced understandings always, provided that his 
partner has no more reason to be aware of the deviation than have the opponents. Repeated 
deviations lead to implicit understandings, which then form part of the partnership’s methods and 
must be disclosed in accordance with the regulations governing disclosure of system. If the 
director judges there is undisclosed knowledge that has damaged the opponents, he shall adjust 
the score and may award a procedural penalty. 
 
2. Other than the above, no player has any obligation to disclose to the opponents that he has 
deviated from his announced methods. 
 
Duplicate Decisions expands upon this: 
 
Partnership Understandings – General Guidelines: Players agreements, whether implicit or 
explicit, must be available to your opponents. However, a player may make any call or any play 
(including an intentionally misleading one that departs from commonly accepted or previously 
announced conventional practice) without prior announcement, provided it is not based on a 
partnership understanding. In other words, a player may make any bid that will fool partner and 
his opponents equally. 
 
 
 


